Blackburn Raves 89/90

Welcome to Old Skool Anthems
The Old Skool Resource. Since 1998.
Join now

zoom

Mar 26, 2005
CHRIST!!! sounds like a mad time there bud....

My first ever rave was the first one after the cop car was turned over & torched at whitebirk, some of my mates went to that one and after hearing about it decided to go the next week. I remember clearly going upto the top floor of a mill in Blackburn. It was between where the staples office supply warehouse is and Ewood park... :confused: somewhere along that road on the right (as if going to ewood) I remember leaving in the morning and seeing the coloured lights on the top floor, steamed up windows etc :D I was hooked after that!!! I had never been into "electronic" music before, i am a musician and thought the idea of making music with computers was obscene till then. It totally changed my life!!!!
After that rave was Ewood mills, i think!! LOL. I remember Altham, then the return to Whitebirk. Oswaldtwistle, Ewood mills again. Hassy Unit 7 (best night of my life cos i lived round the corner and got one of the Bass bins after the rave when i went back!!!!) ;) then there was Nelson... I cant remember anymore at this time, But, WHAT A TIME!!!
The only rave i missed was when the convoy set off from Sett-end and nipped round the back to a party on Shadsworth itself. Beleive it or not, i was offered £100 to play the drums at a Roy Orbison concert somewhere with a dodgy tribute bloke with a wooden leg!!!! :D :D :D No shit. I had committed myself to the gig and we got lost on the way back.

I have many more memories tho, It's amazing to see the footage up on DJ Wellys site, i was moved to tears.

Luv-up.

Z.

Northern Star

Staff member
May 10, 2004
On Cloud 9!!!
zoomtang said: